Search form

When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more.

Bennett Winch SC Holdall

007 Producers To Receive Honorary Oscars

27 June, 2024

Bond producers Michael G. Wilson and Barbara Broccoli will receive special Oscars later this year.

Barbara Broccoli Michael G Wilson Oscar Academy Awards

Barbara Broccoli and Michael G. Wilson

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences have announced that its Board of Governors voted to present the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award to the famous producers.

The Oscar statuettes will be presented at the Academy’s Governors Awards event on Sunday, November 17, 2024, at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Ovation Hollywood. While Bond producer Cubby Broccoli received the Thalberg Award in 1981 Barbara will become only the second woman ever to receive this award.

At the same event, Academy Honorary Awards will be given to to Quincy Jones and Juliet Taylor and the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award will go to British screenwriter and film producer Richard Curtis.

“The recipients of this year’s Governors Awards have set the bar incredibly high across their remarkable careers, and the Academy’s Board of Governors is thrilled to recognise them with Oscars,” said Academy President Janet Yang. “The selection of Michael G. Wilson and Barbara Broccoli is a testament to their success as producers of the fan-favourite Bond series and their contribution to the industry’s theatrical landscape. Richard Curtis is a brilliant comedic storyteller whose tremendous charitable efforts embody the meaning of the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award. Quincy Jones’s artistic genius and relentless creativity have made him one of the most influential musical figures of all time. Juliet Taylor has cast iconic and beloved films and paved a new path for the field. Their profound love of cinema and indelible contribution to our art form make these five individuals truly deserving of these honours.”

Summer Essentials 2024

Add new comment


Connolly x 007